Nintendo GameCube Memory Card Instructions


  • Copying or Moving a File

    Copying a file creates a duplicate of the file on a separate Memory Card. Moving a file removes it from one Memory Card and places it on another.

    1. Use the Control Stick to highlight the file that you want to copy or move and press the A Button.
    2. Use the Control Stick to select "COPY" or "MOVE" and press the A Button.
    3. A window will appear to confirm your choice. Use the Control Stick to highlight "YES" and press the A Button.
    4. The file will be copied or moved from one Memory Card to the other.

    You cannot move or copy files in the following cases:

    • When there is only one Memory Card inserted in the Memory Card Slots.
    • When there is not enough space in the Memory Card that you are trying to move or copy a file to.
    • When you have reached the maximum available blocks on the Memory Card that you are trying to move or copy a file to.
    • When there is the same file already on the Memory Card that you are trying to move or copy a file to.
    • When you are trying to move or copy a file that is not allowed to be moved.

  • Deleting a File

    Important Note: If you delete a file from your Memory Card, it will be gone forever. Be careful that you don't delete a file that you want to keep!

    1. Use the Control Stick to highlight the file that you want to delete and press the A Button.
    2. Use the Control Stick to select "DELETE" and press the A Button.
    3. A window will appear to confirm your choice. Use the Control Stick to highlight "YES" and press the A Button. The file will be then be deleted from your Memory Card.

  • Formatting a Memory Card

    This procedure is only used if a corrupted Memory Card is inserted into the Nintendo GameCube.

    If required, this procedure will begin automatically when you select "Memory Card Screen" from the main menu. You cannot use this procedure to erase files from a useable Memory Card.

    1. After selecting "Memory Card Screen" from the Main Menu, if your Memory Card requires formatting, a window will appear to ask for confirmation for formatting.
    2. Use the Control Stick to select "YES" and press the A Button
    3. A window will appear to notify you that all data will be erased and ask again for confirmation for formatting.
    4. Use the Control Stick to select "YES" and press the A Button.

    NOTE: When you format a Memory Card, all data will be permanently erased and unable to be recovered.