Nintendo DSi & Nintendo DSi XL - Data Management

Please Note: The "Data Management" setting will not be displayed until you connect online and enter the Nintendo DSi Shop for the first time. After you have entered the Nintendo DSi Shop, "Data Management" will appear in System Settings 1.

Available from the Nintendo DSi System Settings menu, Data Management lets you copy and delete data from the system's memory or inserted SD Card. What do you need assistance with?

 

Copy to System Memory

You can copy software or save data from an SD Card over to the Nintendo DSi System Memory.

  1. Before copying, keep in mind:
    • You can only copy data to the system memory if there is an open slot on the Nintendo DSi menu.
    • Data can only be copied back to the original system it was copied from.
    • If the data already exists in the Nintendo DSi System Memory, it will need to be deleted first before data can be copied from the SD Card. Only one copy of a file can be saved to the System Memory at a time.
  2. Insert the SD Card into the SD Card slot on the Nintendo DSi and press the POWER button to power the system on.
  3. On the Nintendo DSi Menu, use the stylus to select the Settings icon.
  4. Select "Data Management," then "SD Card."
  5. Select the data you want to copy, then select "Copy."

 

 

Copy to an SD Card

You can copy software or save data from an SD Card over to the Nintendo DSi System Memory.

  1. Before copying, keep in mind:
    • If the data already exists in the SD Card, it will need to be deleted first before data can be copied from the System Memory. Only one copy of a file can be saved to the SD Card at a time.
    • Data stored on the SD Card cannot be accessed directly by the Nintendo DSi. It must first be copied back to the System Memory before it can be used.
  2. Insert the SD Card into the SD Card slot on the Nintendo DSi and press the POWER button to power the system on.
  3. On the Nintendo DSi Menu, use the stylus to select the Settings icon.
  4. Select "Data Management," then "System Memory."
  5. Select the data you want to copy, then select "Copy."

 

 

Delete from system memory

You can delete software or save data from the Nintendo DSi System Memory to free up more space.

    Please note that:

    • Once save data is deleted, it cannot be retrieved. You may wish to copy save data to an SD Card before deleting it.
    • Deleting a DSiWare application from the Nintendo DSi Shop does not delete the license for that application; it can be downloaded again at no additional cost.
  1. On the Nintendo DSi Menu, use the stylus to select the Settings icon.
  2. Select "Data Management," then "System Memory."
  3. Select the data you want to delete, then select "Delete."

 

 

Delete from an SD Card

You can delete Nintendo DSi software or save data from an SD Card.

  1. On the Nintendo DSi Menu, use the stylus to select the Settings icon.
  2. Select "Data Management," then "SD Card."
  3. Select the data you want to delete, then select "Delete."