Q[Switch] My software wasn't saved. What happened?
Did you close the software or turn off your console before saving?
If software is closed or the power cut before you save, your recent progress will be lost. Before closing software, be sure to save first. Save methods differ by title, and in fact some software saves data automatically.
* With Animal Crossing: New Horizons, for example, if you press the − Button to close the game, your data will be saved first.
Are you using the game card in a different Nintendo Switch console to before?
Save data is stored in your console's system memory, not on individual game cards. As a result, if you use the same game card in a different console, you won't be able to continue playing from where you last saved the game on the original console.