Available now

Assemble your ultimate team of Marvel Super Heroes

The MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE series returns for the first time in 10 years—with a new action RPG—exclusively on the Nintendo Switch™ system! Assemble your ultimate team of Marvel Super Heroes from a huge cast including the Avengers, the Guardians of the Galaxy, the X-Men, and more! Team up with friends to prevent galactic devastation at the hands of the mad cosmic tyrant Thanos and his ruthless warmasters, The Black Order.

In this new storyline, heroes and villains unite in a race across the Marvel Universe to find the Infinity Stones before Thanos and The Black Order use them to unleash cosmic chaos. From Avengers Tower to the X-Mansion and beyond, every stop on the dangerous quest to thwart Thanos results in unexpected collisions of fan-favorite characters and iconic locations. Get closer to the action by shifting the view to an over-the-shoulder “Heroic Camera” perspective—a series first that offers a more immersive way to play single-player or multiplayer on up to four systems. Play online*, offline via local wireless, or simply pass a Joy-Con controller to a friend, so they can join your team. With another pair of Joy-Con™ controllers (sold separately), four players can team up on one system! The drop-in/drop-out co-op possibilities let players create their own “Ultimate Alliance” at will.

Read more
Release date:
July 19, 2019
up to 4 players
Action, Role-Playing
Game file size:
17.9 GB
Supported Languages:
Japanese, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, American English
Supported Play Modes:
TV mode

TV mode

Tabletop mode

Tabletop mode

Handheld mode

Handheld mode

ESRB Rating:

Play online, access classic Super NES™ games, and more with a Nintendo Switch Online membership.

This game supports:

Individual DLC

MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order Expansion Pass


Expand your adventure and roster of playable characters in the MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order game with the paid Expansion Pass, which grants access to three exclusive DLC packs that will become available as they release one at a time after the game’s launch and will not be available for individual purchase.

■DLC 1 – Marvel Knights: Curse of the Vampire

Prepare to step into the boots of Punisher, Blade, Moon Knight, and Morbius—the Marvel Knights are joining the alliance! These playable characters are part of DLC Pack 1 included with the MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order Expansion Pass*, which also includes a new mode!

In Gauntlet Mode, up to four players** take on a frenzied series of co-op challenges in rapid succession to earn rewards. Once you’ve cleared a Gauntlet, you’ll unlock a survival-style version of it with ongoing waves of challenges. Find out how long you can last and see how your score stacks up with online*** rankings!

■DLC 2 – X-Men: Rise of the Phoenix

Dark Phoenix, the infinitely powerful cosmic entity from one of the X-Men's greatest sagas, unleashes an era of fiery destruction! Four more X-Men join the alliance—Phoenix, Gambit, Ice Man, and Cable— with the purchase of the MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order Expansion Pass.

Compete against friends and foes in the newly added Danger Room mode! Players compete to see who can take down enemies while being barraged by buffs and debuffs.

■DLC 3 - Fantastic Four: Shadow of Doom

Marvel’s First Family, the Fantastic Four—Mr. Fantastic, Invisible Woman, Human Torch, and The Thing—join the alliance with the purchase of the MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order Expansion Pass.

Head to the kingdom of Latveria in an added storyline that pits your team of Marvel Super Heroes against the man in the iron mask himself, Doctor Doom.