Nintendo DSi & Nintendo DSi XL - Settings - Format System Memory

This option is used to delete all saved data that have been stored on the Nintendo DSi and will wipe the system memory clean, as it was when purchased new.

How to Format System Memory

  1. On the Nintendo DSi Menu, use the stylus to select the Settings ("wrench") icon.
  2. Select the right arrow three times to go to page 4, then select "Format System Memory."
  3. Select "Format" every time when asked to erase all data.

What type of data is erased?
  • Data saved on the system memory, such as software downloaded from Nintendo DSi Shop.
  • Changes made to the System Settings.